1. (My first actual post!) David Sedaris – Holidays on Ice

First of all, Happy New Year to all reading this! I usually don’t really celebrate New Year’s Eve, and I couldn’t even if I wanted to last night because I’ve been super sick since Christmas. šŸ˜¦ But I hope you all had a wonderful night and I wish you all a great year. I’ve decided to do the “Photo A Day” challenge, so if anyone is interested in checking that out, it’s on my tumblr (www.drvnkfvck.tumblr.com).

Anyway, since I stayed in last night, I took the opportunity to read a new book,Ā Holidays on IceĀ by David Sedaris. I ordered this book on Amazon a few weeks before Christmas so I would have time to read it during the holiday season, but they sent me the wrong book! (Not Amazon themselves, it was one of the used books options.) So I had to contact them and they sent me the right book, which I just got the other day.

David Sedaris - Holidays on Ice (photo taken by me)
David Sedaris – Holidays on Ice
(photo taken by me)

The book is somewhere around 150 pages and is a collection of stories, which David Sedaris is known for. I’ve read one of his other books,Ā Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim, this past summer. I really liked his style of short stories about his experiences that were presented in a comedic way, so I was expecting to loveĀ Holidays on Ice.Ā It was a good read, but I didn’t necessarily love it, mainly because I was confused when stories would jump from his point of view to a fictional (I’m guessing) story. I just wish the fiction and nonfiction had been separated into two parts, maybe then I would have liked it more.

In terms of the stories themselves, I generally liked them. A few of the nonfiction stories were also inĀ Dress Your Family in Corduroy and DenimĀ so I skipped over those ones, but the new ones were funny, as per usual.

Overall, this book was an easy read that I enjoyed. It’s not your typical happy lovey Christmas book, and I think that makes it fun to read around the holidays, just because it’s something different.

Leave a Reply

