4. Stephanie Perkins – Anna and the French Kiss

Earlier today, I finished my third book of the year: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. Once again, I flew through this book (this isn’t normal for me, it’s only because I’m still on winter break). I read the whole thing in under 24 hours and had a hard time putting it down. If you’re following my posts, you might be sensing a theme here.

Stephanie Perkins - Anna and the French Kiss (photo taken by me)
Stephanie Perkins – Anna and the French Kiss (photo taken by me)

I like to read Young Adult books. I know some people think they’re silly or not worth reading, but I like them. A lot of the time, the stories are pretty predictable, but I think they are still fun to read and nice light reading to break up other types of books. I enjoy switching up my genres from book to book so it’s never predominantly one thing.

In terms of Young Adult books, I think Anna and the French Kiss is better than most. The story is the generic “girl in high school falls in love with a boy but for whatever reason they can’t be together,” but it’s much more interesting than a lot of YA books I’ve read. I’d heard positive reviews of this book from adults, but it still went above my expectations.

The story follows the title character’s school year studying at the School of America in Paris, a boarding school in France for American students. She was sent there against her wishes by her father, so she has a negative outlook going in. Throughout the book, you follow her in her adventures meeting friends and living in the city of love.

As I mentioned before, it’s a teenage love story, but there were a lot of unexpected turns throughout the novel. I really enjoyed this book, it was an easy read but still a really fun and exciting story. I’d definitely recommend this book to someone who likes YA, and I’m really interested in reading Perkins’ other two books in the trilogy, Lola and the Boy Next Door and Isla and the Happily Ever After. I love her writing style and her ability to make what seems like a generic story into something more.

2 thoughts on “4. Stephanie Perkins – Anna and the French Kiss

Leave a Reply

