6. Sarah Mlynowski – Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn’t Have)

My latest book is Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn’t Have) by Sarah Mlynowski. I actually finished this book on Thursday but haven’t had any time to write a post about it. The book is about 350 pages long but I finished it in just one day.

Sarah Mlynowski - Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn't Have) [photo taken by me]
Sarah Mlynowski – Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn’t Have) [photo taken by me]
Ten Things We Did is another Young Adult book, following a high schooler named April through her rule-breaking junior year of high school. Over her winter break halfway through junior year, her dad tells her that he got a new job and the family is moving from Connecticut to Ohio. April does not want to leave her life, school, friends, and especially her boyfriend behind, so she begs her dad to stay. Eventually, she convinces him to let her live with her friend Violet so she can stay in Connecticut. There’s just one thing – Violet’s mother is in a traveling production of Mary Poppins and won’t be home at all while April is living there. April knows her dad won’t approve, so she and Violet come up with a plan to trick April’s dad, including making a fake email address to control all communications between their “parents”.

The book goes through the rest of April’s school year and all the things she does that (as the title suggests) she probably shouldn’t have.

I did not particularly like this book. I can’t point out exactly what I didn’t like about it, but it just wasn’t my cup of tea. As with most YA books, it was a very easy read, which is why I flew through it, but it was more out of determination to finish the book as opposed to interest in the story.

The story certainly wasn’t predictable, but the surprises weren’t presented in a way that made them very exciting, so the whole story just seemed a little dull to me. I think some of this might have to do with my college kid cynicism, knowing that no one’s high school experience isn’t that crazy and exciting. The book was just too fake for me and I feel like nothing that exciting actually happened in it.

However, this book was an easy read. I’m sure to a lot of people it’s a good book. And although I didn’t particularly like it, the story seemed unique to me, and there were some parts that surprised me. I would recommend this book to younger readers, or people who really like YA books.

Leave a Reply

