9. Alida Nugent – Don’t Worry, It Gets Worse

After my last disappointing read, I was looking for something that I would really enjoy…and I certainly found that in Don’t Worry, It Gets Worse by Alida Nugent. The book is under 200 pages so I read the whole thing yesterday, but it was a great read.

Alida Nugent - Don't Worry, It Gets Worse (photo taken by me)
Alida Nugent – Don’t Worry, It Gets Worse (photo taken by me)

The book is sort of a memoir, as Nugent tells stories about her postgraduate life and its disappointments. After graduating college, she struggled to jump into a career immediately, as a lot of people have in the past few years and continue to do today.

I had a feeling I would like this book before I even started it, because even though I still have a little over a year until I graduate, I feel like I’m not going to have a plan once I do. It was nice to read a story from someone who didn’t have her whole life planned out when she graduated, and Nugent’s stories are funny.

She gained popularity on tumblr before she wrote this book, which is a website that I love. Nugent is funny and relatable, and I think this book is a great read for anyone who will be graduating college soon or has in the past couple of years, especially if you feel like you’re in over your head.

One thing that I really liked about this book was the ending. Throughout most of the book, you read about Nugent’s struggles in life – from having to move back in with her parents, to working retail even though she has a degree, to her unsuccessful love life. However, the book does not end on a sad or depressing note. I really like the way Nugent concludes the book, on an uplifting note describing her happy life in New York City. It gives the reader hope that even if your life isn’t going the way you imagined it would, there are always positives to life and things can always improve.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. It was funny, interesting, easy to read, and left me feeling good. As I said, I would definitely recommend this book to people in their 20s whose lives may not be playing out as they had planned.

Leave a Reply

