10. Michelle Huneven – Blame

Last night, I finished the book Blame by Michelle Huneven. It took me a while to get through so it wasn’t really a fast read, but I liked it.

When it takes me a while to get through books, I generally start having negative feelings toward them, because it seems to me like they’re dragging on. However, this book had an interesting story that kept me satisfied even though it took me a while to get through it.

Michelle Huneven - Blame (photo taken by me)
Michelle Huneven – Blame (photo taken by me)

The book is about a woman in her mid 20s named Patsy who is an alcoholic. She wakes up in jail after one of her many blackouts to find out that a mother and daughter were killed in her driveway. The book follows Patsy into prison, out of prison and to AA meetings, and through her life for the next few decades.

The first blurb I read about this book only really talked about Patsy’s drunken accident, so I was expecting this book to be all about her experiences going through the trial and whatnot, but that actually only takes up a very small portion of the beginning of the book. The rest of the book deals with her life after the accident – a little bit of her time in prison, her life after prison, and eventually her married life.

I really liked this book. I thought it was very well written and interesting. There was a good amount of characters introduced throughout the book which kept it moving along with different side stories, but not so many characters that you couldn’t keep track of them. I also think it’s a really nice story about a life turned around, albeit because of a tragedy.

The one thing I wasn’t too crazy about in this book was the ending. After all the events that occur throughout the book, the ending just seemed kind of boring to me. It’s a happy ending, and I was glad to see Patsy happy (because I had become emotionally attached to her), but it just wasn’t as exciting as the rest of the book.

Overall, I think this is a really good book. It starts out with a touchy subject, which gives the book a sort of gloomy look, but it turns around and is an overall positive book.

Leave a Reply

