11. Alexandra Horowitz – Inside of a Dog

I just finished my latest book, Inside of a Dog by Alexandra Horowitz. I saw this book at Barnes & Noble and, being the dog lover that I am, picked it up. I chose to read it these past few weeks to shake up my genres a bit because I still feel like I’ve been reading a lot of memoirs lately.

Before I started this book, I looked up reviews on it, which is not something I usually do. I think I was curious because this book is different from anything I’d normally read, so I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it.

Alexandra Horowitz - Inside of a Dog (photo taken by me)
Alexandra Horowitz – Inside of a Dog (photo taken by me)

The book explains “what dogs see, smell, and know,” as told by Horowitz, a cognitive scientist. Basically, Horowitz was interested in the behavior of dogs and spent years studying and analyzing their behaviors in order to write this book. The book gives you a better understanding of why dogs act the way they do and what they can actually understand.

The reviews I read of this book were not all that positive – a lot of people said they felt that the book didn’t really have a point and left them wanting a better understanding still.

I completely disagree with those reviews. I really enjoyed this book. I learned a lot of interesting facts about dogs through this book, was able to relate to it since I have a dog at home, and even though it may not answer all questions I have about dogs, it still gave me a much better understanding of them. Horowitz also points out in the book that not all dog behaviors have an explanation, so it makes sense that she can’t answer everyone’s questions.

I thought the book was really interesting and it taught me a lot. Horowitz uses examples of her dog, Pumpernickel, to introduce her findings, which I thought was a really nice touch. The book also has a really nice ending that helps the reader to admire their own dog in a new way.

I think this book would be great for any dog lovers, especially people who have their own dogs, because then while you’re reading it you can connect it to your dog and learn a lot more about them.

I really love dogs in general, which I think made me biased in terms of liking this book, but I’d love to hear about your dogs in the comments! 🙂

4 thoughts on “11. Alexandra Horowitz – Inside of a Dog

Leave a Reply

