14. Jennifer Close – Girls in White Dresses

I haven’t been as avid of a reader this past week because my boyfriend’s school had their spring break so he came to visit me at school! Yay! He was only here from Tuesday afternoon to Thursday afternoon, and I still had to go to work and classes (boo!) so I wanted to spend as much time as I could with him, which meant no time for reading.

But I got back into my book today and just finished it! The book was Girls in White Dresses by Jennifer Close. This was one of those books that I just randomly stumbled upon on Amazon and thought looked interesting, so I bought it without really knowing what it was about.

Jennifer Close - Girls in White Dresses (photo taken by me)
Jennifer Close – Girls in White Dresses (photo taken by me)

The book is about a group of twentysomethings, friends from college and high school, and each chapter focuses on one particular point of one of the girls’ lives. The book follows their relationships, job hunts, and their feelings as their friends slowly marry off and have kids.

I really, really liked this book. I kind of didn’t want it to end, because I really like the way Close writes. The girls all seem so likable, and it makes me wish I had a friend group like they do. I also liked how the chapters jumped from one character to another and focused on their home lives too, not just them with the other main characters.

There were two things that I didn’t love about this book. The first was the way Vermont is portrayed in the book. As a Vermonter, I get pretty annoyed when the state gets portrayed as a total hick-town where everyone is a hippie and/or lives on a farm. Now, I know that is true for some parts of the state (I even have a friend whose family owns a farm), but where I’m from is not like that at all. I just kind of hate when people feed into the stereotype that we’re all weirdos who breastfeed each other’s babies. Yeah. That’s an actual thing in this book.

However, the Vermont scene is just a small part of one chapter of the book, so it really didn’t affect my overall feelings toward the book, just kind of upset me while I was reading that one part. Obviously, people who aren’t from Vermont probably won’t care about that one detail.

The other thing that I didn’t like about the book was its use of the “R” word. The way it’s used in the book is conversationally, which I know is an accurate depiction of people like the characters, but I still don’t like it. It makes me uncomfortable when people use that word so casually, and to see it used in a book that same way just made me upset. I do understand that it was used in a realistic way, I just wish it hadn’t been.

Other than those two things, I loved this book. I actually like that there were some specific things that I could pinpoint that I didn’t like in the book, because it makes the rest of it more enjoyable for me.

Anyway, I think this book is a good read for girls in their twenties to read. One of the main themes of the book is how the girls feel as they go to bridal shower after bridal shower and wedding after wedding, which I could kind of relate to because one of my friends got married last summer and my sister is getting married this coming June, so I know how they feel.

It’s a good book, it’s written well, and I really grew to connect with the characters. Their stories were funny, entertaining, and relatable. I enjoyed this book and would definitely recommend it.

Leave a Reply

