18. Molly Wizenberg – Delancey

To make up for my lack of posting, I just flew through another book (it wasn’t very hard to do, though). The book was Delancey by Molly Wizenberg, which I saw a friend post on Instagram a while ago and decided I wanted to read it. Speaking of Instagram, be sure to check out my book account, @beccasbookshelves, and my personal, @becc.adams, if you’re interested too! IMG_1370

Anyway, this book is a memoir about a restaurant, which is not something I’d really heard of before. Basically, the author, Molly Wizenberg, is the author of a food blog and another book, and this book tells the story of her husband deciding he wanted to open a restaurant. She goes through his love for pizza, his various projects he never followed through on, his idea to open a restaurant, the problems the faced in the process, and actually running a restaurant.

It’s a great story.

I flew through the book in a little over 24 hours. It was just the kind of reading I was looking for – easy, entertaining, relatable (although I’ve never opened a restaurant, she writes in a way that makes you feel like you’re there with her).

Right off the bat, Wizenberg, her husband, and all their friends are very likable characters. You really want them to succeed in their goal to open a restaurant.

It’s interesting to hear about the process of opening and running a restaurant in a story form. On top of that, Delancey seems like a restaurant I’d really like to visit (not just for the food, but because of the feel of the place that’s conveyed even on paper).

This book is great, and now I’m inclined to read her other one too – although at this point I have no idea what it’s even about. Her writing style is great, the story is interesting and it just flies by. I’d definitely recommend this book, even though it’s given me a crazy craving for pizza for the past two days ;).

4 thoughts on “18. Molly Wizenberg – Delancey

  1. This book sounds awesome! I’m a big amateur foodie (I am literally always watching Food Network) so this books sounds super interesting! This is definitely going on my “to read” list. Thanks for your review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

