21. Kate White – Hush (and my 21st birthday!)

Sorry it’s been a while since I posted, but my 21st birthday was this weekend! It was actually on Easter, which was a little bit lame, but I still did some stuff to celebrate.

On Thursday, I took the train home from school so I could spend the weekend with my boyfriend. On the train, I read almost all of my newest book, which I’ll talk about more later.

I didn’t do too much to celebrate my birthday over the weekend. On Friday night, I went to my boyfriend’s house and we made homemade pizza for dinner, which I’ve been craving ever since I read Delancey, haha. IMG_1651

On Saturday night, I stayed at home, but Boyfriend went out and bought stuff to make fun drinks at midnight once I was officially 21. We made adult cherry limeades, which were supposed to be like the cherry limeade from Sonic. They were pretty good drinks, the recipe can be found here if you’re interested. Also, check out my Instagram @becc.adams if you wanna see pictures from my birthday!

On Sunday, we woke up pretty early for a 3 hour ride to my grandparents’ house for Easter. I spent the day with my family, until about 7 when my parents and Boyfriend (and my puppy) all had to leave to go home but I stayed at my grandparents’ house for the night. It was really sad saying goodbye to them and that I didn’t really get to celebrate with Boyfriend, but it was still a good day and I was glad he was willing to deal with my crazy family all day. 🙂IMG_1685

After everyone had gone home, my cousin came back to my grandparents’ house to take me out so I could order my first legal drink! We went to On The Border just for quick appetizers and a drink. Mostly, I just wanted to take part in the tradition of going out for a drink on your 21st birthday just because you can. I got a margarita, and didn’t even get carded! How disappointing!

Anyway, somewhere between all the fun and drinks, I managed to finish a book! The book was Hush by Kate White, who used to be the editor-in-chief of Cosmopolitan magazine. I found this book on the clearance table at Barnes & Noble. Originally I didn’t have very high expectations for the book, but I’ve been trying to branch out from my usual genre of memoirs, so I picked it up.

Kate White - Hush (photo taken by me)
Kate White – Hush (photo taken by me)

The book is about a middle-aged woman named Lake who is going through a divorce and works as a marketing agent for a fertility clinic. One night, Lake goes out with a new doctor at the clinic, and ends up going back to his apartment and sleeping with him. Later that night, the man she slept with is murdered, and to avoid complicating her custody battle with her ex, Lake lies to cover herself.

In order to prove that she isn’t the murderer, Lake tries to figure out who did kill the doctor so she can point the cops in that direction. She ends up digging up some unexpected troubles at the clinic she works at, and the book follows her mission to solve the murder and expose the clinic.

The cover of this book has a quote saying this book is “a real page-turner,” and it definitely is. I loved this book. I read almost 250 pages of it on the train ride home, which made the 6 hour ride fly by for me. There were lots of turns in the book and I was always wanting more.

It’s a good mystery without being really scary, it had a lot of unexpected twists, and I read through it really fast. I would definitely recommend this book to someone looking for a thriller and I am now going to look into reading other books written by White.

2 thoughts on “21. Kate White – Hush (and my 21st birthday!)

Leave a Reply

