24. Sandy Hall – A Little Something Different

Yay for two posts in one day! I guess that’s what happens when you go away for the weekend and you finally have time to update this. For more about my weekend away, check out my last post, which also includes a review of Lola and the Boy Next Door.

The second book I read over the weekend was A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall. I read half of the book in Central Park on Saturday and then finished it on the bus ride home yesterday.

Sandy Hall - A Little Something Different
Sandy Hall – A Little Something Different

The book is a story of two college students who like each other but they are both really shy and won’t make a move. The story is told from fourteen different viewpoints, none of which are the two main characters.

I thought it was kind of cool how we get to hear the story from other people, not the two love interests, but I think fourteen is a bit too many perspectives. Some of the people that we hear from seemed to me to be kind of unnecessary, and I think it could have done with less.

Also, the whole idea of this story is that these two are so obviously meant to be together that everyone sees it, including a Chinese food delivery boy, a bus driver on their campus, and even a squirrel. That’s right – one of the viewpoints is that of a squirrel. Don’t even get me started on the bench.

I might be wrong here, but I just don’t think that happens in real life. There’s no way two people can be so in love but never talk to each other, and somehow every single person that sees them knows they should be together.

The ridiculousness of that premise mixed with the overwhelming amount of viewpoints left me not really liking this book. I was disappointed. From reading the back cover of the book, I thought it would be really good, but it was just too outlandish and cheesy for my taste. Plus, as a college kid myself, it seems to me like the author has no idea how college kids actually act.

This book was an easy read, and I’m sure a lot of people like it, I’m just not one of them. If you read the description and think it might be interesting, there’s a chance you’ll enjoy it, but there’s also a chance you’ll end up disappointed like me. My advice is to proceed with caution.

Leave a Reply

