25. Julie Klausner – I Don’t Care About Your Band

Wowza it’s been a while since I’ve written on here! Sorry about my hiatus, I’ve had a busy couple of weeks finishing up school with not too much time for reading. I’m back home now for the summer, so that means plenty of time to read outside!

Yesterday I finished up I Don’t Care About Your Band by Julie Klausner. I don’t remember how I heard about this book, I probably found it on Amazon and you all know how much I love memoirs, so I got it.

Julie Klausner - I Don't Care About Your Band (photo taken by me)
Julie Klausner – I Don’t Care About Your Band (photo taken by me)

This book is a memoir about Klausner’s (mostly failed) dating adventures. She tells story after story about guys she hooked up with or dated throughout her life, mostly her college years and her twenties. She shows her experiences with crazy guys, how some guys don’t live up to their hype, and how crazy the whole dating thing is.

The book is pretty funny but it was completely unrelatable for me. I’ve never really gone out on dates with someone I barely knew, and I’ve been out of the dating game for almost two years now, so I couldn’t really connect with it. That made the book seem more fictional for me, although I know those situations totally do happen.

Anyway, Klausner’s stories can kind of make you feel bad for all of her misfortune, but she tells them in a hilarious way and you can tell that she doesn’t have regrets about her life.

It took me a while to get through this book, which was kind of unusual. While I was reading it, it felt like I had been reading for a long time but hadn’t gotten through many pages, which I usually don’t like in a book, especially a memoir.

Overall, I enjoyed this book. Although I couldn’t relate to her situations, Klausner certainly can tell a funny story. The one thing that I didn’t like so much was the way she casually mentioned some things that people could easily take offense to, such as self harm or eating disorders. She uses topics like those as the butt of a joke, so if you’re at all sensitive to something like that, you may not want to pick up this book.

One thought on “25. Julie Klausner – I Don’t Care About Your Band

Leave a Reply

