27. Jennifer E. Smith – This is What Happy Looks Like

This post will probably be on the shorter side because I’m rushing to get ready for a date. Tonight is my anniversary so I’m going out to dinner soon! But first, let me tell you about the book I finished last night.

It was This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith. Last year, I read The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by her, and I enjoyed it so I decided to give another one of her books a read. They’re YA books so they are an easy read, which I like every now and then.

Jennifer E. Smith - This is What Happy Looks Like (photo taken by me)
Jennifer E. Smith – This is What Happy Looks Like (photo taken by me)

This is What Happy Looks Like starts out with a guy typing in his friend’s email address wrong, so his message goes to a stranger across the country. She responds to his email and they begin talking and getting to know each other without even knowing the other’s name. As it turns out, the guy is actually a teen movie star named Graham, and his newest movie is looking for a small town to film in. Graham suggests the town in Maine where the girl he’s been emailing lives so he can finally meet her.

The rest of the book is the story of how they meet for the first time and what they do after that. It’s kind of predictable, since it’s a Young Adult book and they pretty much all are predictable, but it was still a cute story and a good book.

One thing I really liked about the book was that part of it takes place on the Fourth of July and it talks about the fireworks show and then the two of them spending time together. The Fourth of July is always a special holiday for me and my boyfriend and I always watch the fireworks together, so that scene was just a little cuter for me because of that.

Overall, I liked this book, it was nothing special really but still a good read. A plus side is that it’s 400 pages long, so if you’re looking for an easy read but one that you won’t blow through in just a day, this is a good choice.

Leave a Reply

