31. Herman Koch – The Dinner

11698583_10204678397186438_1499409569681829790_n So, I started this post last week but then got distracted and never got around to posting it! Sorry!

Last Saturday was my dog Keebler’s fifth birthday! And I am a crazy dog lady, so yeah I got him a creemee (in Vermont that’s what we call soft serve ice cream) and put candles in it. He even had a cute birthday hat. 🙂 I know it’s a pretty bad picture, but it’s the best I could do.

Anyway, I finished my newest book a couple of days ago and just haven’t had time to post about it. It was The Dinner by Herman Koch.

I first heard of this book when a girl I follow on Instagram posted a picture of it. She said it was a good book, so I looked it up and read a description. It seemed interesting so I put it on my to-read list.

Herman Koch - The Dinner (photo taken by me)
Herman Koch – The Dinner (photo taken by me)

The story mostly takes place in one night, with lots of flashbacks and a look to the future at the end. The story is told from the point of view of a man named Paul, who, along with his wife, is joining his brother Serge and his wife to dinner. Serge is a politician and is likely to be voted the next Prime Minister (the book takes place in Holland).

Throughout the book, you realize that the two couples have come together to discuss a crime that their teenage sons committed together. Naturally, there are a few different opinions on what should be done.

I thought this book was really interesting. It had short chapters (my favorite!) and I could barely put it down. I’ve also been recommending it to everyone. At first, I was a little weary of reading it, because I’ve been reading a lot of suspense novels lately, but The Dinner is totally different.

The narrator has a great voice and I really enjoyed this book

One thought on “31. Herman Koch – The Dinner

Leave a Reply

