33. Hilary Winston – My Boyfriend Wrote a Book About Me

Heyo! Trying to make up for lost time by reading a book quickly, how am I doing?!

My latest read was My Boyfriend Wrote a Book About Me, a collection of stories by Hilary Winston.

Hilary Winston - My Boyfriend Wrote a Book About Me
Hilary Winston – My Boyfriend Wrote a Book About Me (photo taken by me)

As you might have guessed by the title, the book starts out with Winston in a Barnes & Noble, discovering a book written by her ex-boyfriend. The book is supposedly fiction, but Winston finds word-for-word conversations she had in the book, with the narrator’s “fat-assed girlfriend”.

Understandably, Winston has a minor breakdown when she finds the book. Then, she is inspired to tell her story.

The ex-boyfriend who wrote the book, Kyle (as she calls him in this book), dated Winston for 5 years, and she thought at one point that he was the one. Obviously, that didn’t work out, and she uses this book to tell some of their stories, and storied of other guys in her life.

The setup of this book kind of reminded me of I Don’t Care About Your Band, because both are memoir-like and recall many sexual encounters, a lot of them with guys they didn’t really know (I’m certainly not passing any judgment here). I personally have no experience of hookups like this, but I love books like these.

Another factor that really made the book enjoyable was Winston’s tone. She was funny – she is, after all, a comedy writer – but also relatable. I felt like she was my friend telling me stories about her life. Also, I would like to point out that this book wasn’t only about hooking up with random guys. Winston uses this book to tell the story of her life after a really big breakup, and there is much more than sex in it.

I really enjoyed this book, which you might have guessed by the fact that I read the whole thing in under 24 hours. I was sad when I finished it, and not just because *SPOILER ALERT* in the epilogue she tells us that her cat, Emmett, who we read about all through the book, had died. Honestly, that part had me in tears (and I’m not even a cat person. But she did mention that everyone loved Emmett – even dog people). But it was a really good book.

I’m kind of tempted to read the book that “Kyle” wrote, even though I’m fairly certain I won’t like it. Not only is he portrayed as kind of a douche in this book, a quick Google search shows reviews of said book, and he seems like a douche in interviews, too. It seems like a book that is more meant for guys (although it seems to me that the kind of guys who would enjoy it aren’t typically the kind of guys to read books in their spare time), but I might still check it out. Might. In the future.

Anyway, I really liked this book. It’s funny, it’s truthful, and it’s a really easy read. I’d definitely recommend this book to anyone.

Leave a Reply

