40. Elizabeth Little – Dear Daughter

Say hello to my 40th book of the year!

That’s right, last night I finished book number 40, Dear Daughter by Elizabeth Little. I picked this book up at Costco (and you know how I usually feel about Costco books) so I had never heard of it before I bought it.

Elizabeth Little - Dear Daughter (photo taken by me)
Elizabeth Little – Dear Daughter (photo taken by me)

At the start of the book, a woman in her mid-to-late twenties named Jane Jenkins is released from prison because it turns out the evidence in her case had been tampered with. Jane had been accused of murdering her mother and had been in prison for the past ten years. Before all this happened, Jane’s mother was very rich and Jane herself was in the spotlight as a teenager in LA, so her case was very popular. Jane herself doesn’t remember the whole night her mother died and isn’t sure if she did it or not, but since a lot of people are so sure she’s guilty and want to get revenge, she adopts a disguise as she goes on a mission to discover the truth.

I’m still not sure how I feel about this book. At first, it was kind of had to get into, but once it picked up, I was really into the story. However, it still felt like it took way too long to read and I was kind of bored with it overall. On top of that, I wasn’t a huge fan of the ending. It was a good enough story, but the end just left a lot of things unanswered and it was really abrupt.

I didn’t entirely hate this book, but I also didn’t love it. As I said, it took me a while to get through it, so it doesn’t really make for good light reading. I was interested in the story but I don’t know if that was enough for me. In fact, most of the time when I picked it back up to read it, I couldn’t recall who the characters were when their name was mentioned. I feel like if you can’t tell the characters in a book apart, you can’t like it too much.

So basically, I’m just not sure about this book. Overall, I’d say I’m positive toward it, but just barely.

Leave a Reply

