45. Tina Fey – Bossypants

Heyo! I finished my latest book a few days ago, but I’ve been busy with not too much time to post about it. I actually just got back from a Mets game, which was super fun!

Anyway, the last book I read was Bossypants by Tina Fey. To be honest, this book has been on my list for a while, but I’ve always been a little skeptical about it. I feel like most memoirs (or similar books) by comedians tend to feel a bit heavy for me, which I find weird. For some reason, I also felt like this book might be a little bit too much about how Tina Fey dealt with being “in charge” and less about funny tidbits of her life.

Luckily, I was wrong. I’ll admit, this book did start out a little slow for me and took a while for me to get into it, but after that, I really enjoyed it.

Tina Fey - Bossypants (photo taken by me)
Tina Fey – Bossypants (photo taken by me)

It’s no surprise that Tina Fey is a funny lady, and her book is an extension of that. She shares stories of her life – from when she was young to (almost) present day (because it was written a few years ago).

She talks about her ascension into the comedy world, including Mean Girls, 30 Rock, and of course, playing Sarah Palin on SNL. I thought most, if not all, of her stories were funny, and once the book got going I could hardly put it down.

My one complaint would probably be that some of the chapters were really long, and as you all know, I like my chapters short. I just like to read any chance I get, and if that means reading for 5 minutes before class starts, I like to be able to stop at the end of a chapter and not just in the middle of a page.

However, that doesn’t change how much I liked this book, and I’d definitely recommend it to anyone who is a fan of Tina or her work. It’s a thumbs up from me.

Leave a Reply

