47. David Sedaris – When You Are Engulfed in Flames

Ugh, with midterms I haven’t had much time for reading lately, and I really feel like I’ve been in a slump.

David Sedaris - When You Are Engulfed in Flames (photo taken by me)
David Sedaris – When You Are Engulfed in Flames (photo taken by me)

Today, I finished my most recent book, When You Are Engulfed in Flames by David Sedaris. Last year, I read two of Sedaris’ books, so I was looking forward to this one.

However, I don’t know how pleased I was with it. I think my main problem with this book is how long it took me to finish it.

If you’ve read any of Sedaris’ books before, this is similar in style. He publishes collections of short stories based on his life. They’re all very entertaining, some of them just felt to go on too long for my liking.

This book has a lot of stories about Sedaris’ life as he lives in Paris and also describes an adventure in Japan. I find Sedaris very relatable, even though we are in fact very different. He has a way of writing that the reader can really connect to, which I like.

I am a fan of the style of writing, because collections of short stories make for easy on-the-go reading, but as I mentioned before, the book did seem to take a long time for me to read.

Anyway, if you’re into this style of writing, I’m sure you’ll enjoy this book, and it has a lot of really funny parts to it. Overall, I enjoyed it, I just wish it had seemed a little lighter while I was reading it.

Leave a Reply

