48. Elizabeth Maxwell – Happily Ever After

Wowza, two posts in two days, it’s almost like I’m back to my normal reading schedule!

The book I finished today (that I only started last night) was called Happily Ever After by Elizabeth Maxwell.

I found this book at a discount bookstore full of books I’d never heard of. I picked it up mainly because it seemed like the most interesting book out of all of them, and it only cost 2 dollars!

So, I did not have high expectations for this book. I basically thought it would be a classic cheesy romance novel and that I wouldn’t like it.

However, I was pleasantly surprised by this book, although it had a really weird concept.

Elizabeth Maxwell - Happily Ever After (photo taken by me)
Elizabeth Maxwell – Happily Ever After (photo taken by me)

The book is about a 40-something year old single mom named Sadie who writes erotic novels. At the beginning of the book, Sadie is starting her latest book, a love story between two characters named Aidan and Lily.

One night, Sadie goes to bed in the middle of her third chapter. The next morning she wakes up and feels really weird. She sits down at her computer and finds the third chapter completed – by someone else.

In the middle of her otherwise normal chapter, a witch shows up and transforms her two main characters to another world. Sadie is confused, naturally, because she doesn’t know where this writing came from. However, she tries to go about her day as usual.

This means taking a trip to Target to pick up a few things. In the middle of her shopping trip, she sees a man standing in an aisle looking really confused. She asks the man if he needs help, and he tells her that he can’t remember his name or anything about how he got there, but that he gets the feeling he’s met Sadie somewhere before.

Through an interesting turn of events, the man ends up staying at Sadie’s house and it only gets weirder from there. When he finally gets his memory back, he remembers his name is Aidan – and that he is the character from Sadie’s book come to life.

Basically, the witch in the story transported Aidan to the real world, and he has to work together with Sadie to find his true love, Lily, and get back into their fictional world.

The book follows their mission to find Lily and return them to the world where they belong.

As I said before, this book has a really strange premise, but I really enjoyed it. I started it last night before bed and could not put it down. I ended up reading half of it before I finally went to sleep.

I really had low expectations for this book, and although most of it was pretty cheesy, it was still an interesting and enjoyable read.

The writing is catchy and makes for an easy read, so I would recommend this book for some light reading if you think you might like it.

Leave a Reply

