54. Sylvia Plath – The Bell Jar

Ah, I’ve been super busy this week with finals coming up, but I’ve still managed to squeeze in a book this weekend!

I just read The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath. When I was home for Thanksgiving, I found the book in my basement leftover from when my sister read it in high school. I’d never read it so I figured I’d give it a try.

I feel like most people do read this book in high school, but for some reason I never did.

Basically, the story follows a college-aged girl named Esther in the 50s, who at the start of the book is spending a month in New York City working for a fashion magazine with a bunch of other girls.

IMG_7760
Sylvia Plath – The Bell Jar (photo taken by me)

At the start of the book, it’s clear that Esther doesn’t enjoy the things that other girls her age like and she doesn’t feel very close to them.

By the end of her month in New York, she’s starting to feel really detached from this lifestyle and starts to resent everything she knows.

When she gets home to Boston with her mother, she starts feeling more and more alienated from her life and starts acting out more.

Eventually, she tries to kill herself and ends up in an asylum.

Throughout the whole book, the reader is inside Esther’s mind, so we’re almost able to understand how she goes, for lack of a better term, ‘crazy’ and it almost feels relatable. Of course, no one can really understand a mentally ill mind unless they go through it, but this book makes the reader understand a little better.

I’ve seen a lot of people online comparing this book to Girl, Interrupted, which I actually did read in high school. I feel like Girl, Interrupted showed more of people being ‘crazy’ whereas this book was more about showing how Esther’s mind worked.

The book was a really easy read, but I didn’t feel too into the story as I was reading it. I didn’t really care to know what happened next, I just kept reading to get it over with kind of.

I also found that when I started up again after taking a break, I couldn’t remember who certain characters were, which is never a good thing.

Overall, I wasn’t a huge fan of the story or the book, but it was an easy read and I like to read classics just to expose myself to different types of books. If you’re interested in things like this it might be worth checking out (also if you like Girl, Interrupted you may like this, even though I didn’t really care for either).

2 thoughts on “54. Sylvia Plath – The Bell Jar

  1. I think The Bell Jar is one of those books that gets better with every read. I guess it depends of the situation in which you are in the moment of reading and how does it connect to the book. I hated it the first time I read it, but four years and two rereads afterwards, I love it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

