59. Katie Heaney – Never Have I Ever

Only one more book to go to reach my goal of 60 this year!

Last night I finished another book, called Never Have I Ever – My Life (So Far) Without a Date by Katie Heaney.

This book showed up in my recommended category on Amazon randomly last month, but it looked funny so I got it. I wasn’t disappointed.

As you could guess by the title, the author, Katie Heaney, had never had a boyfriend at the time she wrote the book. She was 25 and had never really had a second date.

IMG_8231
Katie Heaney – Never Have I Ever (photo taken by me)

The book starts when she was in kindergarten and follows her through middle school, high school, college, grad school and beyond.

We read about Katie’s dating life, if you could call it that, and her friendships, all in her funny and entertaining voice.

I felt I could really relate to Katie and her stories, even though I’m not in the same boat. I have a boyfriend, so obviously I can’t completely relate to her stories, but this book is definitely more relatable to me than other memoirs I’ve read about girls’ dating lives. I’ve read a few books that talk a lot about dating and random hookups, and I honestly can’t relate to those at all, so this book was a nice change of pace from that.

Katie’s writing is definitely funny. There were some points where the book struggled to keep my attention, but there were also parts that made me literally laugh out loud. I also read through this book pretty quickly, whereas some other memoirs about dating have taken me a surprisingly long time to get through.

This book is funny, easy to read and definitely entertaining. I’d recommend this book to anyone looking for a quick and funny read.

Leave a Reply

